An Elegant Palace from the Late Nineteenth Century
The Palais at Parkring 14 was built in the neo-renaissance style according to the designs of Johann Romano and August Schwendenwein between 1871 and 1872.
It was a gift from the industrialist Hugo Henckel von Donnersmarck to his wife Laura Countess Kaszongi. The façade, the ceremonial staircase and the staterooms of the Bel Étage have retained their original appearance to this day. Between 1983 and 1985 the Palais Henckel von Donnersmarck was joined to the adjacent Palais Leitenberger as part of the conversion of the two buildings into a luxury hotel. The unique staterooms helped to swiftly ensure the status as one of Vienna’s top addresses. Following the comprehensive current program of renovation and modernization, the former Palais Hotel will reopen as Almanac Vienna, a new five star hotel in 2019. The highest quality services and infrastructure will also be available to the residents of Parkring 14.